LEAVING FOR AMERICA: SECOND ATTEMPT

We essentially have made all preparations to return to America. This blog entry covers issues related to obtaining tickets, as well as reflections on how relationships will go in America when we return from Russia. 

Getting tickets to the U.S. Yesterday, April 10, I was able to purchase the tickets needed for Marina Grace and me to get to America. It has been a very complicated process. We actually got Marina’s Russian travel passport back earlier than the April 5 date we had been given. Nevertheless, when my friend came over and tried to help me get tickets on the Avia site I used before, it would not process the sales. I got vague messages just stating, “Did not process.” My friend and I thought maybe it was my bank card. As I mentioned before, since I got “hacked” (of a sort) they upped my security. When we went to the bank, however, they said they actually sent the money for the tickets twice, and Avia returned the money both times. 

We were confused. I posted this problem on Facebook, and an American friend who lives in St. Petersburg wrote that you cannot reserve tickets to fly from Russia to America. The U.S. will not permit it, even though you are going through stops in other countries to get there. I could not find that explanation anywhere else, but I trusted my friend. He travels quite a bit. 

What I eventually had to do was to book a flight to Istanbul from St. Petersburg and do another separate order from Istanbul to the U.S. I ran into problems with my card again. I booked the flight to the U.S. first to make sure I could get there. I thought perhaps that would be the problem. There were no problems getting that flight. I used the American site, Expedia, which my friend had recommended. He even set it up for me. I had to use my brother’s American credit card so it took some time to get that information. I was relieved that eventually all went well. 

I used Yandex Travel to book my flight from Petersburg to Istanbul, but it would not accept my card because it does not have my name on it. I tried unsuccessfully several times and then decided to transfer money to another Russian card I have because it does have my name on it. Unfortunately the bank’s alarm bells went off and shut down my card again. I really began to doubt if this would ever work out. After a couple of days I got my bank card open again. I decided to use the old Avia site to get our tickets from Petersburg to Istanbul. You cannot imagine my relief that the order was processed, and I received confirmations. 

So we are set to leave Russia on April 17 to go to Istanbul. We will spend the night there and leave at 6:10 a.m. to go to Frankfurt, Germany, then to Washington, D.C., and finally to North Carolina. I believe I have all needed documents. I have Marina’s and my American and Russian passports. I have her apostille birth certificate and a stamped copy of Oksana’s death certificate. The elementary school here gave me a document showing she is leaving school with proper permission. I didn’t ask for it, but they said it could be needed. 

Nevertheless, I am not “counting my chickens before they hatch,” as the saying goes. I believe we will leave, but with international events being what they are these days, one can never be sure. The U.S. seems to be getting desperate. 

Responses from readers. I was terribly disappointed in many of the responses to my last blog entry. I had stated in general my reasons for leaving, but informed readers I was not going to get into the very private aspects which I factored into my decision. I explained that this move is not about politics. It certainly is not about choosing the American “system” over Russia. This decision is about family. 

Nevertheless, I got even more negative responses–most of which questioned either my intellect or motives. And even after I mentioned responses that I had gotten that were based on misreadings of my blogs, I got some that were even worse. One guy reminded me that I had moved to America in 2008 to start a new business and that business failed. How could I want to move there again, he wondered! He also referred to my late wife having to persuade me to move back to Russia. 

The truth is I have never started a new business; I have never thought about starting a new business. I never wrote anything about starting a business. I ended up taking a job at a business where my brother had been half-owner for years. The business did not fail. My wife and I were of “one spirit” on moving to Russia from the beginning. No element of “persuasion” ever entered our discussions. 

It’s responses like this one that make writing a blog unpleasant. I understood when I would get anti-Russian responses to my earlier blogs. The news that people were hearing in the West about Russia presented Russia as a terrible place. I think some Americans liked that idea. For me to write that such presentations were and are completely false, challenged their presuppositions. They wanted very much to believe Vladimir Putin is a dictator, who answers only to a bunch of Russian oligarchs. They saw on the news that life here is awful! 

My first hand knowledge of the changes I saw here from 2002 (when I first visited here) to now upset their worldview. I tried to show them they were wrong based on my experience. They continued to assert that they knew Russia better than I, although they were the ones who had never lived here. What really confused me were the ones who took to social media to call Joe Biden a liar over many issues, but they believed everything he said about Russia. 

Now, however, some “pro-Russian” readers are determined to paint my move to America as me siding with the Russophobes. I grew so frustrated I almost came to the point of just not writing anymore. What kept me going were others who motivated me to keep writing whatever my detractors said. Many wrote that they really want to hear my reactions to moving back to the U.S. They completely understood that this move is about being with my children, my grandchildren and other close relatives and friends. It is about seeing that broad smile on my little daughter’s face when she talks about being with her family in America again. She can still remember how we all got together and had such good times. 

The Road Ahead. So, if all goes well, we will be in the United States soon. As I have stated more than once, I have no rose colored glasses on when it comes to my view of life in America. In my opinion, since we moved here in 2016, America is in far worse shape politically, economically and socially. I have made preparations as best I can. 

The issue of personal relationships can cut both ways, however. While I know we will be received with great joy by some, there are others who were close to us who, because of my positive presentation of life here in Russia, have left me wondering how things will go overall. Things have changed in some relationships. For example, we loved our Orthodox Church there. When we moved here, missing those folks was one of the most difficult parts. Nevertheless, I have gotten some very nasty responses from some folks there. At one point, a member of the church there wrote to me and told me I needed to block these people who were attacking me. He essentially said, “Hal, you laid out why you believe the Strategic Military Operation was justified. They are not reading or not responding to what you stated. They just hate Russia.” So I took his advice and blocked them. When we go back, I am determined not to cause division in the congregation, even if that means we must go to another congregation. 

I see the problems from travel to relationships and friendships as being related to the larger issue of the deep division between Russia and America. I maintain that the division was intentionally created by “leaders” in the U.S.  I really am caught between the two worlds. I have chosen not to dwell on that division as we go home. My family and real friends are waiting. No one is going to rob Marina and me of the joy of being with these people. Let the folks in D.C. or wherever say what they will: We are doing our best to make it back.

36 thoughts on “LEAVING FOR AMERICA: SECOND ATTEMPT

  1. What an adventure!!! I envy you and Marina – what a tsunami of experiences is coming your way with your trip and change of countries. You are blessed, Hal, in so many ways. Thank you for including us all in this. I look forward to every blog and, of course, fully support your absolute personal freedom and courage to follow the path that God is leading you on.

    Someone should make a movie of “To Russia and Back” – so many dramatic moments, so much revelation, so much joy and so much pain, so much overcoming – a “hero’s journey” indeed.

    Looking forward to the next episode!

    Love and prayers to you and Marina.

    John from Loano

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Fair winds and following seas (traditional sailor farewell).

    You are in for an adventure.

    The hate you find when you get home will suck and probably shock you, BUT YOU WILL BE HOME.

    PLEASE don’t stop writing. Your insite as an expat returning will be invaluable to those of us who stayed.

    Safe Journeys. Let us know how your doing. As a single father I understand the needs you have described and fully support your decision.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. God bless your travels and hold you and Marina close during them!

    A quick thought or two concerning your return to your SC Orthodox Church. Some people will want to argue and others will think, “He came back so Russia isn’t what he said it was; we were right”–or something similar. Do not worry about them. No matter where you go, there will be people who insist on disagreeing over this subject. Speak with your Priest (for proper direction) and then let the matter be. It will play out on its own over time.

    I’m super excited for you! Travel can be exhausting but it can also be exciting and enjoyable. May it be the latter for both of you! Enjoy your family homecoming as much as possible! God bless and hold you both close, Hal!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Good luck and God bless, Hal, to you and Marina.

    As that old saying goes about the dogs bark and the caravan passes by. So people will say stuff, they always say stuff, but they don’t know you or your family nor your reasons.

    Just be safe on the trip back, enjoy seeing your family and friends and live your life…that is all that matters. And, hopefully, we all who appreciate your comments will read you again on this page.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. i find that most people just don’t understand process of others or how they are being led. you are doing the best in your situation. I understand that you are doing what you are called to do and it’s not easy but we follow Christ and the path laid out for us not the path orhers think is right for us.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Dear Hal, may God protect you and Marina and grant you safe and uneventful passage. I will be praying for you all in our church as you travel. God willing, you might even be able to come and visit one day! I hope to see you soon!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Dear Hal, I was at the same point upon leaving the US and had to endure so many back stabs from fellow Orthodox from my former church there because I chose to return to Russia and took my daughter with me. So painful to know you have to explain yourself to those whom God made blind and deaf but who insist you are wrong and made the wrong choices. God’s help to you and your sweet little girl, may the Lord’s Guardian Angel protect you in your travels. Please, please do keep writing. We the Anglophones here in Russia need your insight, wisdom, and good-naturedness.

    In Christ,

    Luba A.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much Luba!!! I just cannot understand how people think they can tell you what decisions you need to make for your family. Even those who don’t know me at all still sit in judgment. When people have asked me about coming to Russia in the past I would say, “I’m here to give you what information I can, but I will never tell you what you should do.” I don’t think that is some weird policy. Anyway, you are a great encourager.

      Like

  8. Oh Hal, I pray you will be strong enough to keep your heart bolted and firmly shut when you have all bitter encounters overseas. Marina needs you to be healthy and happy. I fear you are to endure for a lot more disappointing moments in the midst of fellow Orthodox, not mentioning just pure hatred. I learned to forgive them all and now, having met the love of my life, I fear nothing. Love and joy do exist. They are inside us. My prayers are for your heart to survive it all and love and joy to persevere around you! Don’t get discouraged, for the Lord is with us. Have the most joyous Pascha in the midst of your loved ones!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are so right. I cannot let their negative words and expressions rob me of joy. Glad you found the love of you life and a blessed Pascha to you!

      Like

  9. Safe travels! Much love to you and Marina. Enjoy your well earned summer of joyous reunions and Southern picnics.

    Keep blogging! Your perspectives are now going from rare (squared) to rare (cubed). Well played!

    God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Dear Hal,

    I have loved being able to hear from you in good times and bad since i came across this blog some 8 (??) years ago. You have been the center of a small tribe worldwide who wish you the best, and I’m glad to be part of it.
    I understand the pull of family. My parents immigrated to the US after WW2, and I grew up alone, with my nearest relatives in the Netherlands, and have felt the lack. In compensation, I have become part of several tribes, including this one, but I still notice. 

    Godspeed, and if you ever need a bed in Rhode Island, you are welcome here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I learned from you that the general perception of Russia in the West is completely wrong. I shall miss your correcting info.
    2. You have also a son, or am I wrong?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I have a son here who is 15 years old. He had already decided that after this school year he wants to go to tech-college in the Fall–like his older brother did. So he was going to be moving out to live in St. Petersburg or Moscow anyway. He wants to stay here and live with grandparents until then. He does plan on coming to the U.S. this summer. We’ll see if he changes his mind.

      Like

  11. Hal, I have a bad habit of not visiting your blog for months at a time. That means I have to read several months’ worth of posts when I do!

    I’m astounded to hear that you and Marina are coming back to the States. But on reading back through older posts it seems your thought process was sound and that you have a good idea what you’re up against. I wish you and your little girl safe travels. Like others, I insist that you keep blogging! I’m really interested in your impressions after eight years’ absence.

    I doubt I need tell you this, but keep your options open: A Russian passport is a precious possession these days. You may still be in for some surprises.

    The real catastrophe of 2020-21 was not just the economic destruction and the blithe abandonment of our civil liberties. It was the pandemic of disordered thinking that it ushered in. This seems to have been undertaken as a deliberate psy-op by the public-health and intel bureaucracies. It’s been very successful. Many more Americans today seem able to cling to and even to champion brazenly self-contradictory beliefs than in 2016. Most Americans seem too incurious to question what they hear in corporate media. And nobody seems to understand the difference between a slogan and an argument.

    Political debate is completely passe.. Any effort to point out holes in the official narrative draws a swarm of spurious ‘fact-checkers.’ I know you know this because the whole point of ‘Between Two Worlds’ is to starighten out disordered western thinking on Russia. But I think you may still be somewhat surprised to see firsthand how far it’s progressed.

    It sounds like you’ve arranged the best possible situation to protect Marina and yourself from this. We all look forward to your upcoming posts!

    Like

Comments are closed.