AN INTERESTING ENCOUNTER

In this blog I’m taking a break from my updates, since we are now in a waiting period until Marina’s passport comes to us. When we were in Moscow we had what was one of the most interesting encounters I have ever had with a stranger. It went beyond “interesting” I think. It bordered on mystical. 

I mentioned that after the devastating news that we could not fly out of Russia I called my friend Fr. Seraphim Bell. He had a friend, Yulia, who immediately got us a room for the night. Then he called a lady named Sophia who had worked in the area of immigration who advised us to go back to Luga to secure Marina’s passport. We stayed two nights in the hotel in Moscow resting up and getting ready to return to Luga. My former Russian tutor, who now lives in Moscow, came over and had dinner with us and helped me get reservations for our flight back to St. Petersburg. 

I also indicated that the airport Domodedovo was large and intimidating for us. Nevertheless Marina and I managed to find the place to get our boarding passes and check our baggage for the flight to St, Petersburg. We waited in a rather long line for a few minutes before taking our turn. When I placed my big suitcase on the scales, I was not clear on exactly what the lady at the counter said, but I understood that she was not going to check the large suitcase on the plane.  She also would not let me put my backpack and Marina’s old suitcase on either. We simply got out of line and moved away so others could pass and so I could find out from Marina what she said exactly. 

We moved away from that area, and Marina told me she thought the lady said my big suitcase was too heavy. We would have to wait until everyone else checked in to see if there was room for it. She also said my backpack and the old suitcase would need special permission. We were both confused. As she had done several times over those two days, Marina said, “Daddy, please pray.” I did. I bent down to her, and I prayed right there in the middle of the airport. 

As I completed my prayer we turned towards where we thought the place for special luggage was. We really had no idea where we were going. At that moment I heard a voice behind us, “Sir, do you speak English?” I turned to see a lady coming towards us. I had not seen her in the line. I said “Yes, I’m an American.” She said, “I don’t think your daughter correctly understood what was said.” The lady spoke English with very little accent, and it was not a Russian accent. 

I was surprised the lady even heard anything because I had been standing in that line for 5 minutes and had not seen her. She looked Asian, and seemed to be in her early fifties. Later, when I asked her name and she told me, she must have seen that I looked confused. She said “Don’t worry, I’m Asian. Most people can’t say my name.” 

She then told me that the lady at the counter had said my big suitcase weighed too much. It weighed 24 kilograms and the limit for one item is 23 kilograms. I needed to take one kilo out of the big bag and put it in one of the others. She also said my backpack is not really a suitcase, and it needs to go to “Specialized Luggage,” along with the old non-standard suitcase. I will have to pay more. I thanked her profusely and then began getting clothes out of the big suitcase and putting them in another one. I have been in Russia for over 10 years, but I still think in terms of pounds and ounces. I had no idea how many shirts make one kilogram. But when I got what I thought was enough transferred into the other bags, we went back to get in line. 

We were standing at the end of the line again when I heard a voice, “Come up here!” I looked and it was my Asian friend calling me to come to the counter. We moved to get in front of everyone and when I put my big bag on the scales it was only 19 kilograms. After checking in two of our suitcases, the lady at the counter typed in information on my other two non-standard bags and sent us away with the stubs to pay. My new friend volunteered to show us where to go. I gladly accepted. 

When we got to the “Specialized Luggage” desk there were about 15 Russian soldiers in line. Actually they were not exactly in line. They were chatting with each other in small circles. I guess military baggage is mostly non-standard as well. I was worried as to how long this would take. My lady friend then stepped up and addressed the soldiers in Russian. I have no idea what she said. But when she finished the soldiers moved aside and motioned to me to go forward. I went to the head of the line. Even the one soldier already at the counter moved aside and motioned for me to go before him. I gave the lady my tickets and paid the bill. After thanking the soldiers, I put the two bags into an elevator to be taken to the plane. 

My new friend then said to come with her and she would show us to the proper area to board our plane. We went up one level and around some corners until we arrived at area “D.” She said the specific gate for our flight was not listed yet. She showed me where to look and told me that when the specific gate is shown, we should go there for boarding. 

By this time I was very confused about my new friend. So I asked her if she worked for a specific airline or did she work for the airport. She said, “Oh, I don’t work here. I’m just a passenger and my plane is starting to board now. I’m sorry but I must hurry off.” Shocked, I responded, “Thank you so much. You have been a true answer to prayer and messenger from God!” She smiled broadly, thanked me, and then quickly moved away. 

I asked Marina if she had seen the lady standing in line when we arrived to check our luggage. She said, “No, daddy. I think she came from the sky.” I immediately thought of the Scripture that speaks of “entertaining angels unaware.” I said to Marina, “She appeared right after we prayed.” Marina remembered that. Of course, I know some will say it was a coincidence, but I recall the words of William Temple, Archbishop of Canterbury, years ago: “When I pray, coincidences happen; when I don’t, they don’t.” 

We had had many prayers answered until we got to Russian Customs. Then the  prayers seem to fall on deaf ears. I will never forget poor Marina sobbing in that lounge. I reminded her then that we do not always get the answer we want. We remember especially at this time of year that even Jesus’ prayer that the cup of suffering be removed was not answered in the way he willed. He surrendered to the Father’s will. 

As we boarded our plane and prepared to return home, I was grateful for what we had experienced. Of course I am glad we did not miss our flight because of the confusion over the luggage. But I saw the responsibility I now have for helping others. Frustration and disappointment cause some of us to turn completely on our own needs and issues. That sweet lady showed me how much help one person can be to others. Again, to employ religious terminology, it was time for me to “go and do likewise.” 

17 thoughts on “AN INTERESTING ENCOUNTER

  1. A beautiful Jesus-filled story. Thank you for blessing us by sharing, and thank you for realizing the Power behind your blessing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful encounter
    Thank you for sharing. We never know when we are in the presence of angels and I am pretty sure you were. Prayers my friend for you and your sweet daughter .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A powerful and soulful post. I don’t usually comment yet I enjoy reading all your updates and musings. Thank you for sharing.

    Many blessings to you, Marina and your son.

    Sandy Weiss

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Keep in mind that I and my wife run an ID medical practice. We are licensed in FL, NY, MA, MI, MN, ND, TN, NC, WI, IN, & WA.
    We are accredited as staff at Novant Health in Wilmington, NC.
    So….
    We know first hand what is going on medical wise in the US…
    I recommend you read this…
    https://www.midwesterndoctor.com/p/how-do-vaccines-cause-autism
    Then.. learn first hand the USA vaccination schedule for kids…
    https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/child-adolescent.html
    I summarize… lots of vaccinations…. which is why my grand kids became autistic and allergic to gluten…

    In an earlier post you mentioned wanting to visit your grandkids… That means you have children from previous marriages???
    Will your half russian kids play second fiddle to your US set???
    Hmmm…..
    Amazing that your grand kids can’t visit you in Russia, where you are independent, can live on your pension, have friends, and your current crop of kids have free medical care and university education.
    Amazing that you don’t invite your grand kids to go to University for free in Russia…

    Tell me…. why did you marry a Russian girl???
    I can tell you why I did… after 3 failed US marriages, the first of which occurred in church, wearing the crowns, after 2 yr engagement, only to discover 20 years later that when we walked down the aisle… one of us was pregnant and the other was a virgin…
    I finally listened to my mother and married a good russian girl…

    INDY

    Like

    • Thanks for the links. I will check them out. I was married once before Oksana to my high school sweetheart. We had two sons. They are grown now, and I have 5 grandchildren in the U.S. Oksana and I lived in the U.S. 8 years. Both our children were born there. All my children were born in the U.S. My American family and Russian family got along wonderfully. My boys loved Oksana. Marina Grace cannot wait to get back to see her big brothers in the U.S. My boys and their families have lives and careers in America. With the Russian bureaucracy as it is they could never settle here even if they wanted to.

      Like

  5. I recently flew domestically in Russia, on a 737-800, the last generation of Boeing planes that don’t dive into the ground or drop pieces in flight. It cost a bit less than a third-class sleeper car, but I generally prefer the train. There’s no baggage limit, time passes quickly when you’re asleep, and when you’re awake, you can chat with other passengers, hear some interesting stories, and improve your language skills.

    Cities grew immensely in the century between the first trains and the first aircraft, so train stations are much closer to city centers. I almost got killed trying to hike to the airport, having to choose between walking in the highway inches from speeding trucks or wading through hip-deep snow.

    If I don’t understand something, I repeat back what I think was said in my own words, and they confirm or deny it. If time allows, I ask them to clarify the word that tripped me up. Children are not good interpreters because they don’t talk about the things adults talk about. Even simple abstract words like “decide” can flummox them.

    Like

Comments are closed.