LIFE FOR AN AMERICAN IN RUSSIA: THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY

In my last blog entry I departed from the topic of Ukraine and gave an update on how things are going with my children and me. I deeply appreciate all the kind responses. I made it through the holidays and my birthday pretty well. The kids have one more week of school. Things are still not looking good for a trip home to America. I’m starting to think about looking for a guide or someone to help with a trip to places in Russia we have not seen or where we might enjoy this summer. I think we need a change of scenery—at least I do.

In this blog entry I am going to give a general update and review on the situation in Russia as it relates to the relationship with the U.S. As usual, I think there are a lot of misrepresentations in the U.S. media about how things are here. I’ve done this in many blogs, of course, because many wanted to hear what life in Russia is really like. But now it is more serious. I fear the misinformation (to use the popular euphemism for lies) is being used by some to bring the two countries closer to war. In fact, some U.S. politicians are saying, “We are at war with Russia.” My little blog won’t stop it, but I am still determined to do what I can. “Information is power,” as Scott Ritter says.

THE GOOD. There are a number of good things happening in Russia. First, the ruble continues to gain strength. It is the strongest against the dollar that I can recall for quite some time. That amazes me. Russia is the most sanctioned country in the world by far, yet the ruble is much stronger than it was before the sanctions.

I think one reason the ruble is so strong is because no one in the Kremlin panicked when the sanctions were announced. They were not surprised. Calm decisions were made in the heat of the threats and the implementation (or attempts at implementation) of the sanctions. For example, a major threat was that the Western countries would not buy gas and oil from Russia. Russia responded by saying that was fine, but if “unfriendly countries” do buy oil from Russia they will have to pay in rubles. Unlike what I’ve heard, Putin did not raise the price of oil or gas. But the ruble started to regain strength after that, and then a few other measures were implemented that have continued the trend.

Two things happened after the sanctions were announced that I found interesting. First, there were countries not affiliated with the EU, e.g., China and India, that stated immediately they would like to buy more gas and/or oil from Russia. Second, there was a great deal of confusion and dissension among the EU countries which depend on Russian oil and gas. It seemed to me these countries wanted to please their U.S. masters and boycott Russian gas and oil, but at the same time they realized their own economies would be devastated by winter if they did so. There was hardly unity on what to do. The confusion and division led to an increase in the price of oil.

Gas prices were already rising in America long before the invasion of Ukraine, however. Watch how Senator Josh Hawley from Missouri responds to U.S. Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm’s simplistic blaming of Putin for the gas price increases. (Start at the 50 second mark. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAs0iYDncu0)

I am quite sure the results of the sanctions were far from what the U.S. leaders had hoped. A headline article in Business Insider on May 16 stated, “Soaring oil and gas prices helped Russia more than triple its current account surplus to $96 billion, its largest in 28 years.” Business Insider is hardly a “Putin publication.” The article continues, “Russian oil export revenue is up 50% since the start of 2022, the International Energy Agency said last week.” So oddly, the sanctions resulted in more money being pumped into the Russian economy.

Another area in which things are looking good for Russia is in wheat and grain production. On May 12, President Putin announced it looks like Russia may have its largest wheat and grain production in history. Russia has led the world in wheat and grain exports for the last four years. With fears of food shortages also in the news, I do not think most countries want to risk closing their ports to grain and wheat from Russia. This week Russia’s permanent representative to the U.N., Vasily Nebanzya, said Russia will have 25 million tons of grain ready to export from August 1 till the end of this year.

THE BAD. The bad economic trends have hit my home country. Unlike in Russia, where gas prices are still the same, prices in the U.S. are now higher than ever according to Triple A. I checked their prices last week and every day the price went up a bit, setting a new record for highest gas prices ever in the U.S. Diesel is especially high.

I have not done any in-depth research into the possible impact of sanctioning Russian fertilizers. I saw a Facebook post from one of my friends in South Carolina who is a farmer showing the extremely high prices of fertilizers that farmers there are having to pay already. While anecdotal, it is consistent with what I have seen in other articles. Russia is the largest exporter of fertilizers in the world and is ready to sell. Nebanzya announced Russia will have 22 million tons ready. I personally think it is a shame that American farmers and American consumers will be hurt by these sanctions.

I don’t think one has to be an economist to foresee a potential disaster. Farmers are having to pay much more for fertilizers to grow their crops; gas prices, especially for the big trucks that transport the crops, are higher than at any time in U.S. history; food shortages were already low and shelves were empty in many stores before Russia entered Ukraine. It appears that if America continues down this road an economic crash is ahead.

Do the leaders not see that or are they simply unwilling to admit they were wrong in implementing the unproductive sanctions? The West is hurting itself, not Russia, with these sanctions. Rather than seeking authentic diplomatic options to solving the crisis in Ukraine, leaders in Washington are still wanting to keep the war going. The U.S. is determined to feed the war in Ukraine in an attempt to weaken Russia and get rid of Putin. Several leaders in D.C. have stated that clearly.

As I wrote in an earlier blog, I have children, grandchildren, and other dear family members and friends in America. I take no joy whatsoever in writing what I have just written about how bad I fear it is getting in America. Russia is self-sufficient in terms of food and energy resources. Yet American politicians still talk and act as if they are sanctioning Russia from a position of strength.

THE UGLY. The ugly part of this scenario is the deception that I see coming from the West, particularly the U.S., in attempting to feed the war. When I went to the site to check the dollar to ruble rate, there were articles advertised there which were related to issues in Russia. The first one on the list was an article from CNN posing the question, “Can Russia survive its coming economic collapse?” I chose not to read the article because I do not want to spend however much time I have left on earth reading that junk. But they want Americans to believe that Russia is on the verge of economic collapse. They know most Americans do not read Market Insider and other such publications. So CNN and others know they can lie. And those lies are dangerous and ugly.

Second, I still hear it stated that Americans must endure the hardships to preserve democracy in Ukraine. Given the lack of confidence Americans now have in the integrity of their own electoral process, I’m not so sure much effort is being given to protecting democracy in America. But I am sure that Ukraine is not democratic. I’ve posted the Victoria Nuland phone call, which makes clear that furthering democracy was not what America was carrying out in Ukraine. I won’t go over all that again.

I have also pointed to evidence of how Zelensky eliminates his opposition. I realize that some will continue to believe the Western press. I only offer for your consideration other sources, e.g., The Gray Zone. I personally have found Max Blumenthal to be a trustworthy source. (https://thegrayzone.com/2022/04/17/traitor-zelensky-assassination-kidnapping-arrest-political-opposition/)

The bottom line is that the U.S. is doing all it can to fuel the war in Ukraine despite the economic hardships at home. Most of us Americans complain about how slow and confusing getting legislation passed in Congress can be. But last week Nancy Pelosi quickly pushed a bill through the House of Representatives to allocate $40 billion dollars for Ukraine in addition to the $13 billion the U.S. sent two months prior. Then Senate Democratic leader Chuck Schumer and Republican leader Mitch McConnell got the bill through the Senate in one day! The U.S. politicians cannot solve the baby formula problem, they can’t solve the gas price problem, they haven’t solved the immigration problem in years, but in one day they can get $40 billion for Ukraine to keep the war going. Something is really ugly about that.

I will add a caveat about the $40 billion. Alexander Mercouris of The Duran said he read the bill and it appears to him only about $6 billion is going to military equipment and training of soldiers. The bill funds salaries for government workers and many other items related to keeping the Ukrainian government afloat. Keep in mind Transparency International rates countries based on their studies of the integrity and honesty of the governments. Out of a possible 100 (for perfectly honest), Ukraine scored 32.

I watched the videos of the Ukrainian soldiers and neo-Nazis surrendering to the Russian troops outside the Azovstal steel plant in Mariupol. I was not watching Russian videos or what I saw on the Russian news. I was watching videos posted by Patrick Lancaster, Vanessa Beeley and the video commentary by Scott Ritter. I saw the Ukrainians come out with hands up. I watched them checked for weapons; I saw them remove their shirts to reveal the Nazi tattoos and various other weird symbols. I saw the wounded taken away to the hospital. And then later I watched Zelensky’s interpretation of how the Ukrainian troops had accomplished their military mission and then evacuated the area. He said he had them evacuate so they would live to fight another day.

The truth is they surrendered and now they are prisoners of war. The man, President Zelensky, completely fabricated a narrative for Westerners wanting to believe Ukraine is still winning the war. It was totally false! And this is the man Joe Biden, Mitch McConnell, Chuck Schumer and Nancy Pelosi–Democrats and Republicans in the House and Senate—are sending $40 billion more.

THE PUTIN FACTOR. In my opinion, the main or at least underlying reason for all this opposition, however, is the firmly held dogma that Russian President Vladimir V. Putin is the incarnation of evil. The U.S. has decided he has to go. From what I read and hear from the U.S. media, there are two main groups. First, I find in CNN and most MSM the idea that Putin invaded Ukraine to take it over and hopefully return to the days of the USSR. He wants power! He must be stopped. That is the position of the Biden administration.

Others, like Tucker Carlson, agree that Putin was immoral for invading Ukraine, but he says we can’t risk the security of the U.S. by defending the borders of Ukraine. Tucker points to the idiocy of the American sanctions, but still falls back on the belief that Putin had no business invading Ukraine. I have noticed even with some reporters outside the U.S. there is an inherent need to condemn Putin while pointing to the ridiculous nature of some decisions by U.S. leaders. Condemning Putin is apparently essential for keeping your press pass (literally or figuratively).

I have stated before that while I regard the invasion of Ukraine by Russia as unfortunate and horrible, I agree with those who say there was no other way to stop the killing and shelling of those in the Donbass. I have yet to hear another option. I have received several responses condemning me for supporting Mr. Putin’s decision. Not one of them has ever answered my basic questions: Do you support the continued shelling and killing of those in the Donbass? If not, how else was it going to be stopped? Even with the Donbass almost in Russian control, the Ukrainians are still shelling and killing residents there. They will not stop until they are defeated militarily. I would love to hear a great solution, but so far people just condemn the invasion, blame Putin and either ignore or deny the killing of innocents in Donbass.

One official government report I read this week said that over 3,000 citizens of Ukraine had been killed since the invasion. Nothing was mentioned, however, about the 14,000 that were killed in Donbass before the invasion. Donbass lives don’t matter. In my opinion, Putin followed every possible diplomatic route to avoid invading Ukraine. The U.S. refused because the war must continue until Putin is removed. In my opinion, that plan will work about as well as those sanctions have.

Both in the press and in social media it is accepted by so many that Putin is a dictator with billions of dollars stashed away. I have been told that myself—oddly enough, by people who have never been to Russia. First, I’ve never seen any of them specifically say where this money is stashed and how they know he stashed it. I have not read any details that address these two obvious questions. In philosophy, it would be called an epistemological problem: how do you know what you know? The logic seems to be just to keep saying it, and that will make it true.

Second, I would briefly add that neither I nor many of my friends here really understand what it is that makes Putin a dictator. It does not feel that way to me. I may not agree with all the decisions Putin makes or all the laws he supports. That does not make him a dictator. It means the people elected him, not me, to be president.

I have other questions on the issue of invasions. Why it is okay for America to still have troops in Syria, occupy about one third of the country and openly steal oil from Syrian wells, and it is not called an invasion? President Trump pulled U.S. troops out of Somalia, but the Biden administration sent them back in. How are events in Somalia an existential threat to the U.S.? Do the American people really want our troops in Somalia? The U.S. is still in Iraq after their government voted and told us to leave. So many Iraqis are dead because of the United States. Why are these not “invasions”?

On the other hand, Vladimir Putin tried for 8 years to stop the West from sending “lethal weapons” (as the U.S. called them) to his border with Ukraine, and he pleaded for all those years for the U.S. and NATO to make Ukraine stop killing innocent people in the Donbass. When he finally concluded the only way to stop the attacks was to send in troops, then he was condemned for invading another country. Neither Somalia, Syria, or Iraq is anywhere close to the U.S. border. There is no existential threat to the U.S. from any of those countries. There are those of us who believe this is sheer hypocrisy.

As some may have seen, the award for Freudian slip of the century goes to former President George W. Bush. In attempting to condemn Putin, he got his invasions confused. Please watch the 41 second video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUEr7TayrmU

A couple of observations. Before the slip he stated the Russian elections are rigged. I remind you, Russia allows international teams of observers to all its national elections. I wrote earlier about the experience of Dr. Gilbert Doctorow as one member of such a team. He was quite impressed with the integrity of the system. Since he is fluent in Russian (and quite a Russian scholar) he was able to go beyond just looking at how the integrity of the votes are preserved. He went out and spoke with citizens in Crimea. The U.S. allows no such observers. Joe Biden received more votes than anyone in the history of U.S. presidential elections. Just accept that.

Further, I have also mentioned the invasion of Iraq to which Bush accidentally referred. I have stated before that the late Colin Powell and his assistant Col. Lawrence Wilkerson admitted the so-called proof that Iraq had Weapons of Mass Destruction was fraudulent. We killed close to a million Iraqis based on fraud. But George W. Bush, who was so proud when the murderous mission in Iraq was accomplished, tells us that Putin is the one who is evil.

I think I have mentioned before that my university degree was in psychology. Now, I never thought that having a B.A. degree in psychology qualified me to hang my diploma on the wall and start guiding people through life’s problems. But I did learn interesting things that I still think about. In studying the most influential minds that impacted psychology I usually could understand them and found them interesting, e.g., Skinner or Freud. But Carl Jung was tougher. Of course, you don’t have to be a psych major to know the name Carl Jung. He was hard for me to understand.

Jung apparently was aware that some people had trouble grasping his concepts. So he authored a picture book to illustrate aspects of his teaching on psychology. One well-known picture was of a young Adolf Hitler. Below the pic was the caption, “This man is going to set all Europe ablaze with his incendiary dreams of world domination.” Most Westerners saw the picture and thought, “Well, of course, you don’t need to be a psychologist to know that was what Hitler aspired to!” But then below the caption you learn the quote was not about Hitler. It was a quote from Hitler. The quote was what Adolf Hitler had said about Winston Churchill.

Jung used that picture and that quote to explain his understanding of psychological projection. We all, but particularly world leaders, tend to project onto others the evils of which we ourselves are guilty. Many called Bush’s statement a “Freudian” slip. I tend to see it as perhaps a “Jungian” slip. Is Putin really that evil dictator? Or has he become a convenient and acceptable target on the international wall for the projections of many Western politicians and pundits?

28 thoughts on “LIFE FOR AN AMERICAN IN RUSSIA: THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY

  1. As ever, a good post Hal. Dr. Gilbert Doctorow’s latest post outlines some of the issues that the “Cancel Russia” movement is causing but my overall impression is that Russia is not being notably hurt by the sanctions, for which I’m glad.

    The war is different. The Russian military is getting the job done but it’s slow, difficult work. I hope it ends well but, as yet, I’m sure it will. Peace will be difficult and, as I’ve said before, the wounds from the war will take a long time to heal.

    Life in the U.S. is getting crazy expensive, no doubt. How long people continue to believe the lies of the Biden Administration and the MSM is always a good question. But I’ve noticed that there seems to be an effort to change the focus of everyday news away from the war and to other things, especially with the upcoming election. Both sides are trying to galvanize their voting base. One can only hope the Democrats lose quite a lot in the mid-terms but it is never a certainty. I think the U.S. has some violent, internal times ahead and things will continue to get worse as people chase ideas and ignore reality. We’ll see how it all plays out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just saw Doctorow’s post, but I haven’t read it yet. There are some inconveniences with the sanctions, but nothing like what is going on in the West. I don’t really know how it will end. I know the U.S. is trying hard to spread Russia and its troops thin. But are the willing to completely destroy the American economy to do it??? I don’t think the can in the long run. But the killing is bad enough now. I would hate to see it spread to Western Ukraine.
      I don’t see how the Dems could win in November with a fair election. But fair elections are not a guarantee anymore. So very sad. Thanks for responding. Good to get your thoughts.

      Like

  2. Andrei Martyanov, a renowned Russian-American weapons expert who lives in Seattle (and who comments daily on the military side of the current conflict in Ukraine), said in his recent post that his state is experiencing gasoline shortages. Gas isn’t just expensive, there isn’t enough of it anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Something of possibly unusual good news for Hal’s children down the road, potentially – today the education minister announced Russia is finally, finally turning away from the attempts to recreate the Bologna education system (which is a most baloney system in my experience, having gone into higher education not too long after it was officially adopted as the ideal to strive for). USSR higher education system features were mentioned as being the thing to revive. Honestly, that’s excellent news, at least in my opinion. Perhaps it’s just a feature of Russian psyche vs. Western hyperemphasis on choice above all else, but I always found the USSR academic practice much more effective at actually teaching new specialists as opposed to giving rich late-teens a few years of high-falutin’ “liberal arts” pastime.
    To wit – the USSR system featured a 5-year university program (longer for medical fields, usually 6 years) with almost all the classes and subjects (“majors” and “minors” and all in between) being determined not by the student, but by the program the student applied for; free choice remains only for “side” things not directly involved in the program’s specialization, essentially elective bonus courses and club-like activities. The idea is to turn out a beginner professional proficient in the key fields of his or her chosen program without fail, so any employer knows what the fresh graduate studied and what competences he or she has or does not have. The fifth, last year is almost completely taken up by a mandatory internship in the field of the program, arranged for by the university and relevant field employers, combined with writing a graduation paper (USSR-era qualities of these could easily match Western PhD theses). No “master’s” level – anything beyond that is postgrad. Because of the subjects to study all being fixed, there was never a need to question “what did you major in? what did you minor in?” because it was all known, and the question was only how well they were taught; no free-ranging also meant honing the teaching courses down to, well, a science.
    I had to go through a weird unnatural mix of these two, where the faculty were firmly convinced that the USSR model is superior and followed it in actual practice, but had to bend things out of shape to put up appearances for the Bologna model forced upon us by the “refomers”. In effect, we didn’t have “majors and minors” but went to mandatory classes as we would have before, with “credit values” assigned to them at random so they’d come up to the required sum by the ends of the years, yet the forced separation into BA and MA also meant that we had to graduate “prematurely”, then apply back to MA programs to get our “fifth year” plus internship but stretched over two years. I know I could’ve done without the stress of all those extra exams and a pointless graduation paper on top of everything. Naturally, employers more or less consider just BA alone to be “incomplete higher education” and even turn hires down if they don’t have MA essentially because of this chimeric model.
    So, I’m glad that, if Hal’s children stay in the country and go to our universities, they won’t have to go through all that bullcrap and just do a straight and logical 5-year study course with half a year of intern practice and a clear graduation, with no weird skips or stretches or courses cut short. Perhaps our academia will finally start to get cleaned up after all these years, too. Perhaps I would be able to fulfill my fanciful dream and teach one day, something I all but swore off of pursuing when the Bologna model seemed dominant forever.

    Those 40 billion bucks sure sound to me like the US MICIMATT is just trying to keep its Afghanistan embezzlement party going with a new coat of pretexts. What they fail to account for is that, in Afghanistan, they were up against… no-one, really, with the Taliban being their own creation from earlier and more or less leaving them alone. But now they’re trying to fight Russia – and Russia gets a say in how that fight goes too. They were shadowboxing before – they just don’t expect their gravy train may get derailed when the operations in 404 are over. They’ll have a lot of explaining to do in terms of where those billions are going to once there is nothing to fight there. Though I’m sure enough they’ll spin it away somehow, unless they start a new war elsewhere or escalate to open WW3 that’ll write off everything.

    I’m endlessly entertained by the Western “masters of the universe” apparently convinced Russia can sell resources to them alone and they can dictate something to us. Just last year, China had rolling blackouts across the country because they could not secure enough fuel to power the grids fully to meet demand – and they were buying it at a high premium from the Gulf to begin with. One can bet their hiney they’ll gobble up anything Russia can offer them, even at full market prices, because they’re already paying higher-than and still can’t get enough to meet their needs. Chinese officials even said as much not that long ago. I’m certain that more transport capacity will be needed to meet the scope of their new propositions – but I also know that chinabros make very competitive pipes that are already used in some Russian pipeline projects, so where there’s a will, there’s a way; they’ll get new Power of Siberia lines and even new pipelines laid in record times if they wish for more. That’s even without saying that, even at our current exporting capacities to China, we’ll be making more money than we did selling to all of Europe, and China will be over the moon with having more fuel to go around and making its industries even more competitive.

    On the endless “Russia bad, Russian barbarians” propaganda, I feel it’s intimately rooted in the current Western “founding mythology” of belief in own inherent superiority over all else. Where Western and Central European empires have their classic imperialist master race worldview, America has its own brand, the “manifest destiny” writ worldwide, the belief that “the American project” is the pinnacle of humanity (not unlike “master race” but without the “race”, more like “master nation”). In USSR a similar justification of “our model is the best, so it’s our mission to uplift humanity with it” didn’t even last 70 years – people ceased to believe in it well before 1991 and openly ridiculed it already in the 80s. Meanwhile, the American myth is directly stated in American Revolutionary documents, yet proceeds seemingly undimmed even 250 years later despite “the American experiment” no longer being an experiment or in any way novel, and the world long since moved on from how it looked when America was brand new and had a salient point to make in its claim to being “more perfect”. A cultural, societal expression of it is the constant belief of “we’re the best, the others suck” – even when confronted with the worst of their nations’ problems run rampant, common Westerners almost always react with “sure it’s bad, but what we have is still better than everyone else’s!”. This collides with “the exceptional American project” mythology and amplifies further – it’s sadly essential for American culture to believe everyone is worse than America, else the national idea crashes and an existential crisis occurs. Thus the need to constantly mythologize the world outside one’s borders, in particular the “hated Others” like Russia and China, to completely omit and ignore their successes and anything good about them and endlessly exaggerate anything bad about them or even invent it out of whole cloth. “Sure America’s elections are a sham, but Russia is a totalitarian dictatorship where they have no choice but obey a mad tyrant!”, “Sure American society has become a cesspit, but those Chinese commies send everyone who thinks differently to concentration camps!”, etc, etc. Else the Western psyche (most prominently American and British, in my personal experience in observing the behaviour of their native citizens online and offline, but not at all exclusively so, I’ve seen the same from some Germans and Frenchmen) just can’t survive confronting the ugly realities of how perverse a mockery of their stated ideals their own governance and power have become.

    Yet again sorry for long-winded, semi-unconnected thought paragraphs, but I hope these musings could be useful to some, as a perspective from an observer from “the other side” reasonably versed in the West’s own milieu.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I admit I have not thought that far down the road on the education of my kids. My late wife and I talked about the differences in Russian and American higher education–from her days back when she was a student in the USSR. I do like the more “lock-step” approach, rather than the ones that give so many “electives,” although when she first described it to me it sounded quite rigorous.

    On the point about differences between Afghanistan and Russia, this is something Col. Douglas Macgregor has talked about for a long time–even before Russia entered Ukraine. The U.S. fought a long war in Vietnam against troops that never did present any organized frontal assaults or attacks. Then they fought the even longer war against the Taliban. Even against such “rag-tag” opponents, America could not pull off a victory against either one. Macgregor’s point was the U.S. would be facing a REAL army against Russia. America’s “wars” are more about money than actually accomplishing a military objective. Even its own studies showed the U.S. top officers in Afghanistan never did understand what the ultimate objective was. (Which was making money, but that is not exactly what they were looking for.) But Macgregor warned against Russia they would get soundly defeated. Russia has a real army with superior weaponry. His point was, “If you can’t win against the Taliban after 20 years, you really don’t need to pick a fight with the Russians.” Good point!

    I’m not sure where the “manifest destiny” attitude started in America. If you look at what the founding fathers said about international relations, by today’s standards they would be called strict isolationists. They came to “the new world”, in part, to stay out of European affairs. But somewhere the idea of the “city set on a hill” became a rallying point. And it is not a bad concept in the way it was first articulated–a nation of justice and freedom that would draw other nations to the light of justice. But someone said, “Every virtue carries within itself the seeds of its own destruction.” The virtue of attracting nations got twisted into controlling other nations. America draws support from many countries with its money. What I find shocking is that Ukraine, now Sweden and Finland are still drawn to the promise of U.S. dollars. Even one Swedish minister was glowing with the idea that they could cut the defense budget in half if they joined NATO. America will foot the bill. Of course, they still don’t get that America will then turn on them and feed them to the wolves when it is convenient.

    Anyway, thanks for your input. Good to hear from you.

    Like

    • I think the biggest problem the U.S. (and the West, in general) has is that we are rich. The U.S. can suddenly send $40b to the Ukraine (or anywhere) if they wish. It means nothing to the government to do so. If the nation became impoverished, it would not have the energy (or money) to continue the many farces and lies that it embraces.

      Like

    • It feels like the “manifest destiny” grew out of the initial buildup period after the Revolution and got a boost from the early conflict with Mexico over what’s now southwestern US. Granted, I never studied the specific matter in detail, but my grasp of the Americas’ history (I did a lot of Latin American study) suggests as much – it appeared after the US found their feet post-Revolution and fought off the British revenge attempts and prevailed in a real territorial conflict that they started building up a head of steam. “Grew dizzy from success” in some ways, to borrow from the article title attributed to ol’ Jugashvili/Stalin. The Monroe doctrine was one of its earlier embodiments in another form for certain. It wasn’t until the war over Spanish colonies that it started getting projected globally, however – and then we start having memorable images of the times, one that stuck with me through many years in particular was the “Columbia’s Easter bonnet” one, https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/05/Puck_cover2.jpg/729px-Puck_cover2.jpg . A short trip down the history archives, perhaps, but the point is that, indeed, it’s definitely not found in Revolution-era writings – rather, later politicians ended up justifying “manifest destiny” by the, well, “more perfect union” the revolutionaries were proclaiming as the goal. Perhaps an exercise in mission creep and perversion of intent – coming to see that overall sentiment and aspiration as implying not just self-improvement for the nation’s own sake but superiority over the rest of the world. Regrettable in any case, and perhaps just as unavoidable, for the world is sadly sinful and flawed, and people fall easily to the lure of greater power and riches and control no matter when or where.
      Funnily and notably, the same notion of “every virtue carries within itself the seeds of its own destruction” is something I learned early on from dialectics of materialism, worded as “everything bears its antithesis, its undoing, within itself”. So far that bit of wisdom seems to be panning out. It’s always sad to see happen, but it feels like yet another reminder that, indeed, our world is most imperfect, and attempts to seek or claim perfection within the earthly world are always ultimately delusion.

      In regard to Sweden and Finland and even Ukraine, it feels like treason by the elites facilitated by the populace being lulled by a dream of an easy life of plenty – the latter well cultivated by propagandists, such an image of “the West” being propagated through society with its extra “forbidden fruit” appeal is what contributed strongly to the destruction of the USSR. In effect, Ukrainian citizens were psychologically still living in 1992 20, 30 years later. It’s a very complicated matter, popular psychology, but there was the well-articulated and common magical thinking, belief in “the West” being a cornucopia of unending easy wealth, fueled in part by the labour migrants gone to Poland to perform menial jobs but getting paid lavishly by Ukraine’s standards (even as the Poles went to the UK etc. with the same deal going on). I feel like this belief in “the West” being a promise of “plenty for free” is what held Ukraine up for the past 8 years and is the main reason why many of its citizens still cling to the idea despite it becoming apparent that Ukraine is no “democracy” or is going to come out of it all looking pretty in any way – “the West” is associated with it in their minds and Russia is not, Russia is associated with needing to work hard for their money. That promise is too appealing to many to break the spell until it’s far too late, even though it’s always been a lie – no-one was going to grant Ukraine prosperity out of their own coffers just like that, and the prices asked of it in return turn out to be nothing but national suicide, lately all too literal at that.
      Back on Sweden and Finland in particular – a worthy analysis went up on vz.ru recently that noted the most likely play by the people making those decisions. In effect, they understand that “the jig is up”, ranks are closing and free lunches are ending – so they make a bet on the US to help them hold on to power once times get tough, economies drop and people start asking questions and get angry. Effectively betting on the US helping keep allied governments in power in “important border states”, and on no further escalations or their territories being used for such. Of course, none of them would like to think of the US gladly letting them be deposed if the new leaders show as much or more loyalty, or even just being sacrificed like the Ukraine just got. But they seem to be making that bet either feeling sure of the odds or feeling like they can’t make a better one for their own personal benefit. Naturally, the best interests of their constituents are a distant matter to them, much to the constituents’ woe – compradors are as compradors do, this model of elite behaviour is all too familiar to me as a student of Latin America.
      What I find funniest here, in particular with the aptly cited Swedish minster, is that, far from being a free lunch, NATO is demanding more spending, not less. So whoever in there was operating on delusions rather than cold calculations of staying in power through support from the big honcho overseas is going to be in for a delightfully rude awakening. People say that God has an ironic sense of humour, and I don’t know if that’d be blasphemous or not, but sometimes it does feel that way.

      More information came to light today about the Bologna process abandonment and it’s honestly looking very good. While they will keep the unified state exams on school graduation and university enrollment, university education itself is indeed returning to the “specialist” 5-6 year model. I personally find it best because, at that stage in one’s life and education, it’s best to be taught the foundational core of your chosen field or professional area – a late-teen/early-20s student is almost always not yet experienced enough to map out their own education, they -need- guidance and tutelage, which the specialist university model provides just enough of while leaving room for freewheeling experiments in the student’s own life outside of the classrooms. Listening to my father’s and his generation’s tales of university escapades proves as much – they got a very thorough and systemic education in their professions and still had all the fun they needed on the sidelines. A great balance of guidance and education in things that you will need in your field no matter what with personal freedom outside of that. Effectively, it’s like a much better and adult version of high school, more specialized and in-depth and thorough.
      A lifehack from my own experience as a student, if your children end up enrolling in Russian higher education – one that I will perpetuate myself among students if I remain related to the field. Because the courses are standardized and updated only for new relevant content and information in their fields of study, in some universities at least, each successive year’s students create, update and pass down a sort of “cheat sheet” compendium of detailed answers to exams’ questions (the questions are usually known beforehand, either posted directly by the faculty or from previous-year students). It’s essentially a self-made living crash-course textbook for revising for the exams and tests, with student-compiled information on each possible question like a mini-article, and I found using them to prepare very effective and gladly worked on updating (or occasionally recreating) our study year’s version of it. It was almost a tragedy when one such compendium was not made or wasn’t available for an exam, and when one was, every student getting ready for their turn to take the exam or to enter the test room was revising using their own copy of it printed out or on their devices. Professors are, naturally, aware of them, but more often than not permit the practice – after all, that’s basically their students doing study work themselves on their own time. The only issues arise when people try to copy verbatim from the answers written up – because, with a high degree of likelihood, the professors saw them before in prior years! So, an example of how student teamwork ends up happening in the classic Russian higher education model with fixed courses year over year.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Thanks for your input. I will try to respond later. We are having a terrible time with i-net connection for some reason. I cannot use my VPN (which means no Facebook in the last couple of days) and when it is not connected I get constant interruptions–off and on. Very frustrating!

        Like

      • Had a chance finally to read it more carefully. Good input. I still cannot understand why these countries think the U.S. (and NATO) are going to be the “free lunch” or at least so beneficial to them economically and otherwise. I guess it has just sunk into the mentality of many that the U.S. and the dollar are the safe way to go. The evidence indicates differently IMO! And the U.S. has shown that it is willing to make promises and then follow up with a stab in the back–or at least let them dangle alone. Just ask Georgia. Look at what has happened to the economy of Ukraine since 2014. But, of course, the word is that Zelensky and his comrades are doing quite well financially.
        On the U.S. and its manifest destiny, I think it was a process, as the country became more united and more powerful. Before the War between the States the emphasis was on the individual states. I heard a historian say that if you go back and read early writings in the U.S., before the Civil War you will read, “The United States are….” After the war, it was the United States is…” His point was that the language indicates a significant change in mentality. We wanted to be one big country–not a collection of independent states. Interesting to me.

        Like

  5. You make excellent points, and I completely agree. I find that truth is easy to recognize when you see it or hear it – for those that have eyes and ears to see and hear – and you are writing truth. It’s interesting that we follow the same sources like the Duran, Ritter, Beeley, Lancaster, etc. It is obvious to any honest person that these people are looking to find and reveal truth, yet so sad that none of them would ever be given a straight up honest platform on any MSM source. If they do ever get a mention, it’s only too discredit or downright smear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Thomas. Good to hear from a kindred spirit. And I feel that same frustration you write about. The people you mention are not in this for the big bucks. And that leaves them free to report. And they have the courage to speak out. But, as you say, the best they get from the main stream is ignored. The minute they say anything that can be construed as being positive about Russia–that’s it. The MSM is allowing U.S. politicians to get away with murder…literally in some cases.

      Like

  6. It is always a good day when I find your blog! Thank you for your words here. I am also an expat living in Switzerland, surrounded by Europe but not quite in it. Sadly the Swiss government decided to go along with a lot of the insane US/EU sanctions. They froze assets of Russians not even affiliated with the Russian government. Any claim to neutrality has been shredded. It appears most of our so-called representatives (I refused to call the leaders). Have forgotten they are they to improve Swiss lives. Anyway, I find myself in a sea of mindless lemmings who went from, “we are all in this together,” to “I stand with Ukraine.” When I as them why they didn’t stand with Libya, Iraq or now with Yemen they usually have no answer, except Putin bad. The lack of logic and critical thinking is astounding. Both my husband and I would dearly love to move to Russia, especially since we converted to ROC. My husband speaks five languages fluently and has a pretty good grasp of Russian but sadly my language skills are poor. God be with you and may the Lord have mercy on us all. ☦️🙏☦️

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So good to hear from someone who really grasp the situation. I can’t believe Switzerland joined in the sanctions. And then Sweden and Finland want to join NATO! You are correct on the absence of logical reasoning. And the double standard. Russia is held to one set of “International rules” and the U.S. and its allies have a completely different one. The good news is for those of us in Russia things are very quiet and peaceful. And no crazy prices going through the roof. I really wish you and your husband could make it to Russia. Thank you so much for writing.

    Like

  8. Reading this article and comments makes me sad. What a world we live in, where a blatant war of aggression for territorial conquest is justified, and a country defending itself from said aggression is considered illegitimate. You can deflect to others’ mistakes all you want, but that does not justify a land-grab invasion of a sovereign country in 2022—no matter the reason. For shame.

    Like

    • John, the “blatent war of aggression” (U.S. invasion and occupation of Iraq, maybe?) is not a territorial land-grab, as you describe it. I recommend turning off the Western MSM and flushing that narrative as best you can; it is nonsense of the highest order. Read some of Hal’s older posts on the matter, if you like. They point out a great deal of which you seem unaware.

      However, if you choose not to do so, you are still welcome here as long as long as the discourse is friendly.

      Like

      • As usual, and as I noted in my blog, there is no acknowledgement of the killing that has been going on in Donbass for 8 years. Remember the motto: Donbass lives don’t matter! Even though that is what I pointed to in my blog. Just same old self-righteous condemnation of Putin. It’s easier that way I guess.

        Like

  9. https://theconservativetreehouse.com/blog/2022/06/04/neil-oliver-when-you-accept-that-modern-western-government-considers-citizens-their-enemy-then-all-the-outcomes-make-sense/

    You might enjoy this from Neil Oliver in which he explains how our sense that governments serve we the people (and are accountable to us) is now outdated. It helps to understand the seemingly insane things they do. Our assumptions are not in line with the new normal is all.

    Good post, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “In times such as these, there is often an appetite for and calls for revolution. I would advise against such means. Revolutions are for the birds, always a disaster in the end. Revolutions devour their children, as a wise man said.

      The preferable solution is to maintain all that is good, all that has served us well. Maintain the foundations of the old house and as much of the structure above as is still sound. Root out the rot and treat the woodworm, repair and replace what is broken, but keep as much as possible of what has stood the test of time, what has worked.

      The bitter irony is that it appears that a revolution is indeed being planned – in fact has been long in the planning and is now being rolled out. In the past it was kings and nation states that feared revolution by the common people, the slaves. Now it is the State itself that is fomenting revolution, from within. The rot is at the core, at the heart. By contrast it is the people, we the people, who want the country and the culture and the heritage saved and who must therefore resist the State-sponsored revolution with all the strength we have.” https://theconservativetreehouse.com/blog/2022/06/04/neil-oliver-when-you-accept-that-modern-western-government-considers-citizens-their-enemy-then-all-the-outcomes-make-sense/

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.